Global Technology Solutions

ISO/IEC 20000 the future

With the increase of interest and adoption of ITIL® best practices the British Standard Institute identified the requirement for a standard to assist in the maturing of service delivery and enable consistency across organisations.

In November 2002 the BS15000 standard for service management was released that introduced a core set of requirements that organisations must demonstrate in order to achieve certified status.

The BS 15000 standard was made up of 2 parts:

Part 1

A code of practice that recommends good, accepted practice as followed by competent practitioners.

Part 2

A specification that lays out the detailed prescriptive requirements for the purpose of assessing conformity.

  • Interest grew in the BS15000 certification and in December 2005 it was superseded by the ISO/IEC 20000 certification.
  • The first international standard in service management!
  • ISO/IEC 20000 has the same format as BS 15000, 2 parts:

Code of Practice

A Specification

A few changes were made but on the whole both standards are made up of the same requirements.

ISO/IEC 20000 is known as the ITIL standard, t he body of ISO/IEC 20000 is delivered in less than 16 pages of carefully chosen words.

These words set out to define and delineate what things an organization must to do in order to deliver and support IT services for its customers, be they internal or external customers.

The standard covers a set of requirements (part 1) for the following areas that organisations must demonstrate in order to achieve certification.


Certification brings huge benefits to an Organisation!  Read more >

ITIL® is a Registered Trade Mark of the Office of Government Commerce in the United Kingdom and other countries.

Site Designed & Build: JARweb